Mon. May 23rd, 2022

After nearly a decade of development, a brand new update on the long-awaited Puss in Boots sequel has finally been revealed. Deadline brings word that Universal Pictures has assembled an all-star voice cast to join previously announced returning star Antonio Banderas, who is reprising his Shrek role as the titular feline swordsman.

Joining Puss in Boots: The Last Wish is Florence Pugh (Black Widow, Hawkeye), Olivia Colman (The Crown), Harvey Guillén (What We Do in the Shadows), John Mulaney (Chip ‘n Dale: Rescue Rangers),  Da’Vine Joy Randolph (The Lost City), Anthony Mendez (Jane the Virgin), Samson Kayo (Our Flag Means Death), and Ray Winstone (Black Widow).

RELATED: Dune: Part 2: Florence Pugh in Talks to Join Denis Villeneuve’s Sequel

In addition, it has also been confirmed that Oscar nominee Salma Hayek (Eternals) is officially reprising her voice role as Kitty Softpaws from the 2011 film. Hayek will be leading the sequel along with Banderas’ Puss in Boots and Guillén’s canine character Perro.

Puss in Boots: The Last Wish is being co-directed by Joel Crawford and Januel Mercado, with Mark Swift producing. They all previously worked together on 2021’s The Croods: A New Age.

“The sequel will again follow Puss in Boots as he discovers that his passion for adventure has taken its toll,” reads the synopsis. “He has burned through eight of his nine lives, leaving him with only one life left. Puss sets out on an epic journey to find the mythical Last Wish and restore his nine lives.”

RELATED: Chip ‘n Dale: Rescue Rangers Trailer: Rescuing the World Takes a Pair

The film is currently slated to hit the theaters later this year on September 23, pitting it directly against Olivia Wilde’s psychological thriller Don’t Worry Darling which will also star Pugh.

The Shrek franchise grossed nearly $3 billion between 2001 and 2010. The Puss in Boots spin-off in 2011 earned an additional worldwide box office of about $555 million. It earned a nomination for Best Animated Feature at the 84th Academy Awards.

By admin